Rift by Andrea Cremer

20130805-205502.jpg

Chronicling the rise of the Keepers, this is the stunning prequel to Andrea Cremer’s internationally bestselling Nightshade trilogy!

Sixteen-year-old Ember Morrow is promised to a group called Conatus after one of their healers saves her mother’s life. Once she arrives, Ember finds joy in wielding swords, learning magic, and fighting the encroaching darkness loose in the world. She also finds herself falling in love with her mentor, the dashing, brooding, and powerful Barrow Hess. When the knights realize Eira, one of their leaders, is dabbling in dark magic, Ember and Barrow must choose whether to follow Eira into the nether realm or to pledge their lives to destroying her and her kind.

With action, adventure, magic, and tantalizing sensuality, this book is as fast-paced and breathtaking as the Nightshade novels. Goodreads

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

My review: I actually never read the Nightshade series. I never wanted to. I hate love triangles and that one detail was a major turn off for me. I don’t know if Rise has one (although I’m really hoping it doesn’t.)
I enjoyed Rift a lot. I actually wanted to read this book more than Nightshade. Ember is an interesting character. I think one of the characteristics that I loved about her was this fierceness she had. She refused to be controlled by her father and didn’t listen to what society wanted of her. I could have done without Eira’s POV though. I really felt like it caused a detachment from Ember. When I was getting into Ember’s story it was cut short.
Eira’s POV also seemed to just drag on. Ember’s was like that too but it was a lot better. I don’t know why it worked for one character but not another. I did find myself skipping scenes for both though. Once again, the dragging got in the way.
Besides the dragging, I loved the storyline. Andrea Cremer is amazing at capturing the emotion of her characters. I felt myself on the verge of tears many times and really felt like I was part of the action. Also, Barrow is just… *sigh*. There is just so much to say. I wish the book is just Barrow and Ember’s POV. I hope that’s what Rise is. Just them. Alone.
I love the characters and I swear if any of them die in the next one I’m done. Really just two characters I don’t want to die. I just giggled at this scene with them… and went aw… even though it was actually a scene I was basically crying during. I do know though that this book was setting up for action. It ended on the note Divergent did. Characters on the run and war in the air. That’s really the only connection.
My mom promised to take me to get Rise tomorrow. Thank god. I seriously need it. I definitely think you should read Rift. I don’t know if you need to read Nightshade first, it didn’t seem like you did. I’m sure there were little things that a Nightshade reader picked up on. I enjoyed Rise a lot. I loved the characters. Besides Eira. I really hope more is explained about her. She just confused me and I didn’t like her POV at all. Dragged way too much.
Did you read any of Andrea Cremer’s books? What do you think of them?

~ Lauren

PS- I had to rewrite this whole thing. I’m so sorry.

Leave a Reply

