30 Day Book Challenge: Day 8

Image

30 Day Book Challenge was started by The Chronicles of Radiya. Every day I answer something about a book (it usually ends up about two books). I thought it would be an awesome way for everyone to get to know me.

Day 8: Most Overrated Book

       I decided not to show the cover yet… I’m definitely going to get attacked with pitch-forks and what not. I choose: TheHunger Games.

     I first read The Hunger Games in the 7th grade. My sister gave it to me. It’s actually funny because I used it for a project, later on finding out you had to make a brochure telling people to visit. My conversation with the teacher went like this:

Me: I don’t know how I can do this.

Her: Oh, don’t worry. It can’t be that bad Lauren.

Me: The place is called the Capitol and they make kids fight to the death.

Her: …. Oh.

       So yeah, I guess everyone wants to visit the Capitol now. I actually did I pretty good job too. But now I got off topic. It’s that I find these books horrible, but they are overrated. I hated Catching Fire and could barely get through it. All Katniss did was whine. I wanted tough-as-a-cookie Katniss back. My friends just explained to me why she had to act that way, and I get it, but it still annoyed me. And going into another HG? Seriously? I felt like it was a cop-out. Again, I understand why it had to happen, but it still annoyed me. I was speaking to another fellow blogger once at a book signing who agreed with me about the Hunger Games. He said that once you read other books you realize that it’s not this book that belongs on a pedestal, it’s still good, but not OMG amazing. This is my opinion though…

     And it total copied Battle Royal which everyone should watch and read. And it actually came first. Just saying. Does anyone feel the same way?

~ Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

