Nobody by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

20130926-180150.jpg

There are people in this world who are Nobody. No one sees them. No one notices them. They live their lives under the radar, forgotten as soon as you turn away.

That’s why they make the perfect assassins.

The Institute finds these people when they’re young and takes them away for training. But an untrained Nobody is a threat to their organization. And threats must be eliminated.

Sixteen-year-old Claire has been invisible her whole life, missed by the Institute’s monitoring. But now they’ve ID’ed her and send seventeen-year-old Nix to remove her. Yet the moment he lays eyes on her, he can’t make the hit. It’s as if Claire and Nix are the only people in the world for each other. And they are—because no one else ever notices them. (Goodreads)

_______________

I never read any of Jennifer Lynn Barnes books before. I have heard if them though. Nobody sounded so interesting. I mean, how many books have you heard of about people who are used as assassins because once they leave you forget them? It actually sounds like The Silence from Doctor Who.
Nobody started out great. I loved Claire’s character. She was just easy to read. There were point in the beginning of the novel where I just wanted to cry because that’s how amazing Claire’s narration was. You could feel her heartbreaking and loneliness she felt. Soon after you meet Nix. I enjoyed Nix, maybe not as much as Claire’s POV, but I still liked it.
Even though I liked this book a lot, I still found some faults in it. For starters, Nix and Claire’s relationship. It was too rushed. One minute Nix is set on killing her, then they’re making out and confessing their love to each other. I get it, only they can see each other. But it annoys me that that single thing became the reason for why they love each other. It was way too rushed.
The insta-love may have been annoying, but it didn’t stop me from enjoying the story. I found myself staying up to 1:00 AM on a school night needing to read it. It sucked me in because I was invested in the characters. I needed to know more about them, why they were here in the first place. A lot of questions were answered by the end of the novel. There was one thing at the end that leaves you wondering what happens. If there is a sequel to this book I would definitely pick it up.
I enjoyed Nobody a lot. It had action, romance, characters that felt real, and amazing writing. I would put in on your To Be Read shelf.

4/5 stars

~ Lauren

Leave a Reply

