Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2014 Release I’m Dying To Read

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish. As Brooke and the Bookish said, they created it because they like lists. As do I. Lists should be used more often… 

 

Top Ten 2014 Release I’m Dying To Read

Part of me finds this easy, another part is rocking in the corner because of the stress of choosing a book. But I try. So here are my Top Ten:

 

10) City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

              Five years. I’ve been waiting five years for this book. I know that foreboding feeling. I had it with City of Glass when me and my sister thought that was going to be the last book in the series. Oh, this is much worse. I need this book but yet at the same time I don’t want it because we all know Cassandra Clare is going to hurt us all. This is all I can find to describe me:

9) The Murder Complex by Lindsey Cummings

            This book doesn’t come out till June of 2014, but I’m still excited for it. Something about it is extremely intriguing. For one things the title is catchy and great. It captures the plot of the book amazingly. There’s also a part of the synopsis that is great: “…the murder rate is higher than the birth rate…”. Is that not great?

8) Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff

I love Brenna Yovanoff’s writing. She had the perfect blend of creepy and messed up. Fiendish sounds like a whole new level. You have a girl that was trapped din a cellar for years and finally escapes. Only to enter the world that’s just as crazy. This cover is just going to be creepy. There are so many novels that get labeled as being creepy and get all this attention, but I feel like Breena Yovanoff’s work never does. I can’t wait to read this book and be too scared to sleep with the light off.

7) Erased by Jennifer Rush

If you haven’t read Altered yet please do. I loved the first book. Anna was a great character and I loved her relationship with the boys, especially Sam ;). I just need to know what happens why everything happened. I can’t say much because of spoilers, but if you read the book maybe you understand what I mean. This has to be one of my top 10 series.

6) Trust In Me by J. Lynn

           This is the companion novel to Wait for You. We finally get to learn more about Jase and his background. Also, we meet Teresa who is Cam’s sister. She was so quiet in Wait For You and was barely in it, the fact that she has her own book is really exciting. You can also tell Jase and Teresa are going to be so good. I loved Wait For You. The characters were so fresh and invigorating. It was almost like they could jump out of the pages. Jennifer L. Armentrout did such an amazing job with Wait For You that I can’t wait Trust in Me. And more Cam. You can’t go wrong with Cam.

5) Take Me On by Katie McGarry

I can’t help it. We all know I love Katie McGarry’s books. They are some of the best YA Contemporary books out there (I mention the others ones below. Both are first place). This is the last companion book in the Pushing the Limits series. It’s a new character, one we meet in Crash Into You. I love West and I can’t wait to read his story. The fact that we’re going to see more of Isaiah and Rachel just makes me all giddy. Crash Into You… I can’t explain my love for that book. Can I just have all of Katie McGarry’s books now? Even those not written yet?

4) Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3)

There are only two authors that have the best YA Contemporary Romance books: Katie McGarry and Stephanie Perkins. I’ve mentioned Katie McGarry a million times, and before too. I’ve also mentioned Stephanie Perkins. She writes such amazing stories. Yes, they are chick lit, but by god do they have amazing plots. The love between the two main characters is always slow moving. It’s never a love at first sight deal. No need for that. Isla and the Happily Ever After has been slow moving. The date has been pushed back numerous of times, but I don’t care. If anything I’m happier that way. I’m not ready to let go of characters that I’ve been reading since Freshmen year of high school. I’m happy I get the book my senior year though. I started high school with Stephanie Perkins and I end it with her too. Isla is the third companion book to her others (Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door) so I would definitely read the other two first.

3) Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

 

Rebel Belle

            Rachel Hawkins is one of those authors where anything she writes I love. There’s a great amount of sass in her characters mixed with some seriousness, a dash of sarcasticness , and even more sass. I feel in love with her Hex Hall series and School Spirits. I’m really looking forward to Rebel Belle’s because I can’t wait to see how she is outside of that world. Not only that, but this book sounds so good. I’m pretty sure she said someone dies within the first couple of pages by the point of a heel. That intrigued me right from the start. And she makes the best YA boys. So. Much. Sass.

 

2) Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

 

I’ve been following Sara Raasch’s blog for some time now. I wanna say about seven years or so. When I read that she sold a book, I was thrilled. SHe never spoke about SLA on her blog, but she always spoke about her stories in general, so I feel like I can say I’ve been waiting seven years for this book. If you’ve never heard of this book please go to Goodreads. It’s about a Kingdom of WInter (I love winter), a bad-ass heroine who fights with some weapon I can’t pronounce but sounds awesome, and a tyranny. Plus more. Not only that, but leading up to its release Sarah Raasch holds a contest giving away prizes. I was actually lucky enough to win the first contest. There may have been some screaming…  SLA seems like it’s going to be one of the best fantasy novels that will be thought out and have original ideas. Also, I really want to see this cover. *crosses fingers* please have snowflakes!

1) Alienated by Melissa Landers

Alienated (Alienated, #1)

        I’ve said it about a million times:  I. Love. Aliens. Not that I would sit on my roof with a  “WELCOME TO EARTH” sign, but I just love all the controversies that surround it. And the X- Files. There aren’t many YA alien books out there. Those books that are out there just never intrigue me. Then I read Alienated… and oh my god I think I’ve been going crazy waiting for it. It just sounds amazing and I’m in love. This book immediately came to mind when started making this list. If you haven’t heard of Alienated please just go on Goodreads and mark it. Add it. Slowly become obsessed with me.

Leave a Reply

